News \ News \ Scene

Underworld announce massive 'Drift' boxset

Eight-disc 'Drift Series 1' will be out on 1 November

2019 Oct 22     
2 Bit Thugs

A single LP/CD sampler album will also be available

Underworld have announced the 1 November release of Drift Series 1, an eight-disc boxset compiling all the tracks they've released online as part of their ongoing Drift project. A single-album sampler version will also be available on CD, vinyl album and download.

The Drift project began life on 1 November 2018 with the release of the track Another Silent Way. The project has seen the band eschewing the traditional 'record album, release album, tour' cycle, and instead spending a year travelling, recording and filming, working with a diverse range of collaborators and releasing the resulting tracks as limited-edition free downloads on the band's website – one a week for 52 weeks.

Now, all 52 tracks have been compiled onto the seven CDs that – along with a Blu-ray disc containing the 30 videos they've made to accompany the tracks, and an 80-page book – make up the Drift Series 1 boxset. Guests featured in the collection included techno producer Ø [Phase], Japanese noise band Melt-Banana, trance outfit The Necks and economist Aditya Chakraborty (no, really) as well as long-term collaborator Simon Taylor, with whom Underworld founded the Tomato design and film collective.

The release of the boxset will be followed by a short tour, which finds Underworld playing the following dates:

22 Nov: Lotto Arena, Antwerp
23 Nov: Ziggo Drome, Amsterdam
5 Dec: The Warehouse Project, Manchester
7 Dec: Wembley Arena, London

The Drift story doesn't end there, though. Initally conceived as a strictly 12-month affair, it seems Messrs Hyde and Smith have enjoyed themselves so much, they're going to carry the project on for another year. 





Tags: Underworld, boxset, box set, Drift, Karl Hyde, Rick Smith, Ø [Phase], Melt-Banana, The Necks, tour 2019, The Warehouse Project, Wembley Arena