News \ News \ Scene

Playgroup announce 'Previously Unreleased' series

Features 30 tracks on nine EPs, released over nine weeks

2016 Jul 15     
2 Bit Thugs

All the EPs are vinyl-only and limited to 250 copies, and the first one's out next Friday (22 July)

Following the success of his recent Science Fiction Dancehall Classics compilation on On-U Sound, and the Metal Dance series on Strut, Trevor Jackson is reigniting his Playgroup project with the release of a series of limited edition vinyl EPs entitled Previously Unreleased.

The first EP is out next Friday (22 July), with eight more to follow over the ensuing eight weeks. Together, the EPs will house 30 tracks that were originally recorded in the period 1997-2001. Essentially, they're demos and unissued recordings from the sessions that created Playgroup's acclaimed 2001 debut album, but many have been reworked for modern floors with the assistance of Sasha Crnobrnja from In Flagranti.

DMX Krew, in his EDMX guise, features on one track; two include vocals from Mike Z from new wave band Crash Course In Science, while a young Kieran Hebden (AKA Four Tet) plays guitar on the final EP’s lead track Little Things. And you can hear a megamix of the featured tracks below.


For more details, find Trevor Jackson on Facebook or visit his official website.





Tags: Trevor Jackson, Playgroup, DMX Krew, indie-dance, electro