Magazine \ Features \ Features

Making Waves: MicFreak

One-hour of uplifting house music inside!

2021 Apr 14     
2 Bit Thugs

With a new album out now on DJ Spen's Quantize, Baltimore boy MicFreak does us a mix...

Our Making Waves slot showcases DJ mixes by rising stars. Today it's the turn of Baltimore's Michael Cobaria, who – as MicFreak – has been a favourite on the soulful house scene since emerging with debut album Feelin' It on Quantize in 2018. An album whose follow-up has just been released…

Name: MicFreak 

AKA: Michael Cobaria

Age: Old! 

Location: Baltimore, USA

Describe the music you make in 20 words or less: I make house music that uplifts people's spirits.

Five key influences: DJ Spen, Mousse T, Full Intention, Mark Knight and Mike Dunn.

What one artist/producer would you most like to work with, and why? Nile Rodgers! He’s an absolute legend and working with him would really be a dream come true.

If people check out just ONE of your tracks, what should it be? Party People with DJ Spen & Crystal Waters.

What else do iDJ readers need to know? My new album Everything has just been released on Quantize Recordings, and features brand new tracks plus some of my best remixes and recent collaborations to date. And you can catch me DJing live on Twitch every Thursday and Sunday at

MicFreak's second album Everything is out now on Quantize Recordings. Buy it here.

Follow MicFreak: Soundcloud / Facebook / Twitter

Mix tracklist:

1. I Pray [Earth N Days Remix] – FormulaK, Tess Leah, Earth N Days
2. Days Like This [MicFreak’s Zoom Re-Edit of DJ Spen & Karizma’s Deepah Dub Re-Rub] – Shaun Escoffery, MicFreak, DJ Spen, Karizma
3. Same Same – Ninetoes
4. Oh Honey – Angelo Ferreri
5. The Way You Love Me [Dim's T.S.O.P. Version/Dimitri From Paris Glitterbox Retouch) – The Muthafunkaz, Marc Evans, Ron Hall
6. Up Clap Your Hands [Original Mix] – White Label Will
7. Keep Your Head To The Sky [MicFreak Uplift Edit] -– DJ Spen, Cornell C.C. Carter, MicFreak
8. Where Love Lives [Classic Mix] – Alison Limerick
9. Really Luv House Music [DJ Spen & Reelsoul House Anthem Remix] – DJ Niledge feat. Barbara Tucker & DJ Fatman
10. Think About It [The MicFreak Fire Drum Dub] – Barbara Tucker, Micfreak
11. Strut Cho Phunky Stuff (Sho' Nuff) [Mike Dunn Extended Black Glitter Mix] – Mike Dunn
12. Keep the Fire Burning [Main Vox Mix] – Change Request, Glass Slipper
13. Sun Goes Down [Extended Mix] – Cloonee
14. Easily Triggered {MicFreak Remix] – Kid Enigma, Micfreak
15. Hey Hey [Mousse T's House Masters Re-Rub] – Dennis Ferrer, Mousse T





Tags: MicFreak, Michael Cobaria, Quantize Recordings, DJ Spen, soulful house, vocal house