News \ News \ Scene

Helena Hauff announces album #2

'Qualm' is out on Ninja Tune on 3 August

2018 Jun 20     
2 Bit Thugs

Check out the title track and 'No Qualms' below

Helena Hauff has announced details of the eagerly anticipated follow-up to her 2015 debut album Discreet Desires. Coming once again on Ninja Tune, her sophomore offering is entitled Qualm and will be out on 3 August.

The album is the fruit, we're told, of the Hamburg native returning to her original musical MO - simply plugging in her various pieces of hardware and jamming away, and "trying to create something powerful without using too many instruments and layers." 

The album's title, meanwhile, will carry different resonances depending where you're from - 'qualm' means doubt or misgiving in English, but smoke or fumes in German.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

1. Barrow Boot Boys
2. Lifestyle Guru
3. btdr-revisited
4. Entropy Created You And Me
5. Fag Butts In The Fire Bucket
6. Hyper-Intelligent Genetically Enriched Cyborg
7. The Smell Of Suds And Steel
8. Primordial Sludge
9. Qualm
10. No Qualms
11. Panegyric
12. It Was All Fields Around Here When I Was A Kid

UK readers who want to hear Hauff in action can do so at Blue Dot Festival, Cheshire (21 July), Studio Spaces, London (10 August), Houghton Festival, Norfolk (12 August) and Lost Village Festival, Lincolnshire (25 August). In the meantime, you can check out two tracks from Qualm below.

Pic: Fabian Hammerl





Tags: Helena Hauff, Ninja Tune, Blue Dot, Houghton, Lost Village, Studio Spaces