News \ News \ Scene

Dub Syndicate albums reissued

Four classic On-U releases are getting repressed

2017 Sep 14     
2 Bit Thugs

There's also a new album of previously unissued material, plus a boxset of all five albums

Four early albums by digidub pioneers Dub Syndicate are to be reissued on 10 November through On-U Sound. As well as the four original albums, a new compilation of previously unreleased alternatve versions called Displaced Masters will be releases on the same date, as will Ambience In Dub 1982-1985, which gathers all five albums into a boxset complete with 24-page booklet.

Dub Syndicate began life as a studio-based project in the early 1980s, masterminded by Adrian Sherwood and Lincoln 'Style' Scott, of reggae band Roots Radics. Since then the band has released some 15 albums, with a rotating cast of collaborators featuring such luminaries as Lee 'Scratch' Perry, Scientist, Luciano (the Jamaican reggae star, not the Chilean techno producer), Bim Sherman, Keith LeBlanc, Doug Wimbish and Skip McDonald. Wimbish and McDonald were previously part of the house band at Sugarhill Records.

The albums that are getting reissued are 1982's The Pounding System (Ambience In Dub), 1983's hard-to-find One Way System, 1984's North Of The River Thames (with Dr Pablo) and 1985's Tunes From The Missing Channel. Adrian Sherwood and Skip McDonald are also playing at London's Jazz Cafe on 18 November.

Pic: Adrian Sherwood & Style Scott © Kishi Yamamoto





Tags: Dub Syndicate, Adrian Sherwood, Style Scott, Roots Radics, Lee 'Scratch' Perry, Scientist, Luciano, Bim Sherman, Keith LeBlanc, Doug Wimbish, Skip McDonald, Tackhead, On-U Sound