News \ News \ Scene

Bäumel next up for Global Underground

'GU42: Berlin' wil be first album in the 'city' series since 2015

2018 Dec 13     
2 Bit Thugs

Bäumel's mix features tracks by Phil Kieran, Guy J, Ripperton, Pig & Dan, Swayzak, Matthew Dear and more

Global Underground have announced that GU42: Berlin, the next album in the label's 'city' series will be released on 29 March, and that the DJ at the controls will be German producer Patrice Bäumel.

Global Underground's 'city' series began with Tony De Vit's Live In Tel Aviv mix album way back in 1996, and has since featured the cream of the world's DJ talent from across the house and techno spectrum, including the likes of Sasha, Carl Cox, Nick Warren, Dubfire, John Digweed and Danny Tenaglia. The last album in the series was James Lavelle's GU41: Naples in 2015.

Bäumel himself, though he's now based in Amsterdam and made his name with a reisdency at the famous Trouw club, hails originally from the former East Germany (a small town caled Freital, to be precise), making him a natural enough choice for the 'Berlin' volume. And it's a task he seems to have relished: he describes the city as "the epicentre of the electronic music world. There is no club scene anywhere else that offers the diversity, freedom, rawness and sheer size of Berlin’s nightlife."

GU42: Berlin will be available on streaming services, as a double CD or in a special collector's edition that includes a 110-page photo book and a set of art prints. The full tracklisting can be seen below.

01 Markus Guentner - Crystal Castle
02 Barker - Look How Hard I’ve Tried
03 Phil Kieran - Solar Storm (Mano Le Tough Remix)
04 The Drifter & Benjamin Fröhlich - Waterville
05 Jossie Telch - Borders (Eitan Reiter Remix)
06 Rick Pier O’Neil - Planetary (RPO Part 1)
07 Eitan Reiter - Eat You
08 Patrice Bäumel - Expanse
09 Shlømo - M.U.M.
10 President Bongo - Tramontana (Sturm Der Liebe Remix)
11 Ripperton - Leonor's Lanugo (Anders Ilar's Leonid Dub)
12 FunkForm - Synthesia
13 Diego Azocar - Natural (Matias Chilano Remix)
14 Nicolas Rada - Cumulonimbus
15 Guido Schneider & Daniel Dreier - Little Helper 290-1
16 Patrice Bäumel  - Grace
17 Phil Kieran - Empty Vessels
18 Steve Moore - Worldbuilding
19 Øostil - Quantic
20 HearThuG - Crossroads
21 Pig&Dan - Lost Another Angel (Dub)
22 Mango & Gullen - Manitoba (SineRider Remix)
23 Shlømo - Vanished Breath
24 Markus Guentner - Look at Me

01 Egbert - Trip
02 Christian Löffler - Ghost
03 Jesse Somfay - Lying In A Bed Of Myst
04 Patrice Bäumel - Collider
05 Mehmet Akar - Roll the Dice (Matias Chilano Remix)
06 Edit Select - Undulation
07 Ness - Thought 1
08 Swayzak - So Cheap
09 Luigi Tozzi - Demersal Zone
10 Patrice Bäumel - Mutant Voices
11 Guy J - Fallstar (Rising Mix)
12 Christopher Bissonnette - Jour Et Nuit
13 Château Flight - Cosmic Race
14 Fabrizio Lapiana - Far Away
15 Minilogue - Clouds And Water
16 Aris Kindt - Every New Thing
17 Architectural - A Girl With No Friends
18 Musiccargo - Ich Geh Den Weg Mit Dir
19 Model 500 - Starlight (Echospace Remix)
20 Sten - Squares
21 Matthew Dear - Another
22 Jayro - Jungle (Fideles Remix)
23 Deepbass & Ness - Distance
24 Reeko - Electrical Phenomena (Remake)
25 Adam Port - Do You Still Think Of Me?





Tags: Patrice Bäumel, Global Underground, Berlin, compilation, mix album, Phil Kieran, Guy J, Ripperton, Pig & Dan, Swayzak, Matthew Dear