News \ News \ Scene

J Majik announces first album in 20 years

'Full Circle' is out on Infrared on 1 May

2019 Apr 10     
2 Bit Thugs

A limited edition four-vinyl box set and a USB edition will also be available

Drum & bass veteran J Majik will be releasing his first full-length in 20 years Full Circle on his own Infrared label next month, an announcement that's taken most industry heads by surprise as he hasn't put out any new material for several years.

Majik's career dates back to the early 90s, with his debut under the J Majik name coming out on Metalheadz in 1994, although he'd previously released under the alias Dexxtrous the year before. A true stalwart of the scene, with releases on Mo'Wax, Kaos Recordings and Reinforced as well as Infrared, he's also one of that elite cadre of D&B producers who've proved themselves equally adept at turning out house and techno tracks; indeed the biggest selling release of his career was Love Is Not A Game, a single with house diva Kathy Brown for Defected that went Top 30 back in 2000.

A few years ago, he made a conscious decision to step back from production. But now, apparently inspired by the audience reception when he played at Rupture in 2017, he's back, making the title Full Circle perfectly apposite!

The album, which we're told harks back to classic jungle sounds of yore while also embracing "filmic soundscapes à la John Carpenter," will be available in several limited edition formats, including a boxset of four 12-inches, a USB stick in a presentation box and an ultra-limited coloured vinyl LP which will only be available at Clashmouth, a D&B market taking place at House Of Vans, London on 13 April.

While the album has remained a closely guarded secret, Paul Woolford (in his Special Request guise) recently aired the track The Crow Knows, which you can hear below, on Radio 1. The full tracklisting for the album is as follows:

1. Serenity
2. Hold You
3. Meridian
4. The Red Moon
5. Escape From Lando
6. Point Of Return
7. The Crow Knows
8. Codebreaker
9. Full Circle
10. Eclipse






Tags: J Majik, Infrared, D&B, drum & bass, drum n bass, DnB, D+B